Home » New Posts » How You Balance Your Chakras

How You Balance Your Chakras

By Marcus Knudsen |

To start with, the word chakra itself means wheel, or vortex in Sanskrit. There are seven main chakra’s in our body. They are energy centers that keep the flow of energy running in your system.
If one or more of these are out of balance, the flow of energy will become out of balance too, resulting in problems both mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

We have more than the physical body, like the mind, karma wisdom and bliss body. The chakras are located in the pranic body or energy body. Connecting the bodies and chakras are the energy channels called nadis. So every body is connected and the chakras play a vital role in keeping all the bodies healthy. If they are, the latent spiritual energy known as kundalini will flow through the energy centers making them vibrant.

In the physical body, each of the seven chakra’s are connected to one of the seven endocrine glands and a group of nerves known as the plexus. Each gland has a vital role on controlling a particular function in the body so each chakra can be related to a particular part of the body.

Your perceptions and senses , which can be divided into one category per chakra, affects how you experience reality and therefore affects your state of awareness. In this way the chakras are also is vital in what state of consciousness you are in.

The seven chakras. Location and function

Firstly, there are usually two traditions in explaining the chakra locations. Each one is slightly different, but they both work fine. There are more than seven energy centers but we say seven because these are the seven main ones. The ones I?m now going to list are usually from the Indian tradition and the way I was learned.

Like a glass that will start vibrating from a precise tone, the chakras can be balanced by using the correct sound through your voice. I will also list these sounds, or mantra?s. They also each correspond to an element.

1: Mooladhara
Location: Perineum (midway between the genitals and the anus)
Element: Earth
Importance: Stability. The base for awakening kundalini.
Related organs: Kidneys and bladder.
Mantra: Lang. Utter LA and let the sound resonate on ?ng?. Like: LAAnnnngggg. Like the sound you get when softly striking a bell. The same pronunciation technique for mantras 1-5

2: Swadhishtana
Location: Genital region
Element: Water
Importance: Increased self control and sensitivity.
Related organs: Uterus, testis, prostate and large intestine.
Mantra: Vang. Utter VA and let the sound resonate on ?ng?. Like: LAAnnnngggg

3: Manipura
Location: At the navel
Element: Fire
Importance: Awakens intensity and passion, essential for sound health and physical power.
Related organs: Stomach, liver, spleen and small intestine.
Mantra: Rang

4: Anahata
Location: At the center of the chest.
Element: Air.
Importance: Center of feeling, love and compassion.
Related organs: Heart
Mantra: Yang

5: Vishuddhi
Location: At the Adam?s apple in the throat.
Element: Cosmos (space).
Importance: Evokes surrender, sacredness, opens up the mystical dimension.
Related organs: Throat, lungs.
Mantra: Hang

6: Ajneya
Location: At the eye brow center. ?Third eye?.
Element: Ether
Importance: Centre where the solar and lunar energies synchronize, essential for the flowering of intelligence and awareness, increases memory and concentration. Wisdom. Inner vision. Sixth sense.
Related organs: Eyes
Mantra: Aum. Let the ?A? be about 2/3 of the sound and ?um? (pronounced like ?om?) the last third. Like this: Aaaaaaaauumm.

7: Sahasrara
Location: Crown of the head
Element: The inner light, ?the white light?, cosmic energy.
Importance: Flowering of this chakra leads to a state of complete union with the cosmic consciousness of enlightenment..
Related organs: Brain
Mantra: Ogum Sathyam om. Pronounce something like this: OoGumm Saatiamm Ooooomm.
Don’t force it.

There are many ways to balance the chakras. If the kundalini awakens so you will experience altered states of consciousness. Be careful not try out techniques that can be dangerous, trying to force the kundalini up the spine through the chakras. If you want to do any exercise to balance the chakras. Don’t overdo it. Do the exercise once and see how it feels.

The Chakra dhyana technique

This is a technique to balance your chakras by focusing in them, one at a time and chanting their mantras.

Instructions: Sit comfortably either on a chair or cross legged. You can also use the lotus or half lotus position if you have used this position before and are comfortable with it. Relax.
(Optionable: Touch the base line of the thumb with the top of your index finger. Have palms facing skywards near the knees).

Focus on the location of the first chakra with eyes closed. Breath in and on the out breath you utter the corresponding mantra. You chant the mantra seven times, once per breath. Non strained, relaxed breaths, while keeping focus on the location of the chakra.

Move on to the next chakra and do the same for all seven of them.

How you pronounce the mantras is described above, but it won´t spoil the meditation if you say them slightly wrong. Don’t worry about that.
When you are done, I recommend that you lie down and relax for a while, as long or short as you feel like.

You can do this exercise maximum once per day. A few times per week, month or whenever you feel out of balance and need to settle down and get into balance.

This is something that anyone can do and benefits anyone doing it.



About ourgom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *